Work On It

13 May

I broke up with a guy.

Ha, I mean, break up is a strong phrase. We had three dates and some heavy petting. Then some water and a really great conversation about our pasts.

But he’s not the guy for me. I knew it quickly.

The conversation we had just before I booted him was pretty great. We talked through his exes, what they taught him, just stuff.

He took it gracefully. I told him we needed to end the romantic part of our relationship because it wasn’t leading anywhere and then we both giggled and agreed about how much we wanted to stay friends.

We got lunch and texted a bunch in the week that followed. It seems to be going well.

Wanna come over and eat brownies and watch Lemonade?

Uh, yes. Duh.

And then we were back on my couch, he occasionally mumbled comments through the “visual album” which I consistently hushed. No talking allowed.

Then, as I was preparing to kick him out and brush my teeth he snuck in

Thanks for our conversation last week. I’ve never talked like that with anyone before, gotten to examine those things. It was really cool.

You don’t have friends you talk things through with?

Some of my female friends but yeah, none of my guy friends. I talk through their stuff sometimes but for some reason never my own. I’m even nervous right now, having this conversation.

Well in that situation we must continue it!

Guys. What are you doing? Be better friends to each other! It’s depressing and boring when me breaking up with you is the most relevant and vulnerable conversation you’ve ever had. I want to live in a better world than that. I want to live in a more supportive world than that. I want to live in a world where men can have intimate conversations with me without shaking. Where maybe they’ve asked themselves these questions before.

Leave a Reply

