Wouldn’t Want To Be Too New

29 Apr

A guy today complained that I called rock climbing the “new hip thing.”

Well not really. It’s not that new. I’ve been doing it for a while.

Ok, but you did it at kids birthday parties like a normal person, right? And then started going regularly within the last year? Like once Brooklyn Boulders opened, right?

Of course you’ve “been doing it a while” but it’s not like you’ve been doing it consistently weekly for the last 5 years.

It reminds me of when I visited the Baha’i Gardens in Haifa, Israel.

I had never heard of the Baha’i religion. What I was told is that it’s a newer book religion.

But they consider it a continuation of the other 3 religious books. So they consider themselves just as old as Judaism. No one wants to be a ‘new’ religion.

It’s the same reason why banks like to use have roman columns out front. No one wants to look like they’re late, young, untrustworthy.

Get over it, rock climbers. It’s a newly re-cool thing.

One Response to “Wouldn’t Want To Be Too New”

  1. Anonymous August 20, 2016 at 4:59 pm #

    Every school I’ve gone too has had a rock climbing wall. I got serious while I was getting my bachelors 9 years ago and I was going regularly a few times a week until just a few years ago. Most people I know started in college as well.

Leave a Reply

