Timer

10 Aug

Don’t laugh at me.

A number of years ago a woman who I would call trust worthy told me that I wouldn’t find a relationship with any kind of permanency until at least 28. My mom jumped in, “It’s not that you won’t fall in love before then.”

Great.

I’m ashamed of how seriously I took this premonition and yet I still don’t think she’s even the least bit wrong.

Some people grow alongside their partners for years, melting into each other like precious metals mingling, strong for sure and beautiful but impossible to tell exactly where one ends and the other begins.

Other people meet someone permanent later and have to learn to shave off the burs, rub them against each other slowly and surely over decades. Learning to fit together-ish.

Anyone who knows me knows I’m in the latter camp.

The question is what does that do to your choices between 25 and 28? I fell in love, age 25 and as promised it was not long lasting. It was reciprocated which was nice but long lasting it certainly was not. So, choose your own adventure style, what do I do armed with this knowledge?

Now that I’m old enough to know that you choose to fall in love or let relationships fall away, do I let them go for the next 3 years or do I try to fall in love as many times as possible?

Or do I avoid that question like the bubonic?

Suggestions welcome.

4 Responses to “Timer”

  1. Kati August 10, 2015 at 10:17 am #

    I’d avoid the question, personally. But that’s really funny – I had a relationship I thought would be lasting that started at the end of age 24 and ended not long after turning 28. And now I’m close to the end of 28 and am beginning a relationship that feels RIGHT, more than any other. So… who knows? I say, what do you WANT to do? What sounds right for yourself? I know, tough questions. It can change sometimes. You don’t have to do the same thing for 3 years – I can’t imagine you doing so, having read your blog for years. 🙂

  2. Anonymous August 10, 2015 at 10:39 am #

    Three years without love is way worse than it sounds. On the other hand, falling in love as much as possible is a terrible extreme. When you see gold, go for gold, but like, be prepared for glitter?

  3. Merrie August 10, 2015 at 11:00 am #

    Relax and let nature happen…mom

  4. Ray August 10, 2015 at 9:22 pm #

    Obviously theres a bit of bias as its what I chose…just ignore the question, its not important.

Leave a Reply

