Your Relationship, Your Problem

14 Nov

When I was in college I remember talking to a friend of mine and saying “I would never hook up with someone who was already in a relationship. Girl code.”

And he hemmed and hawed and said “If someone else wants to sabotage their relationship, it’s not your problem.”

If someone wants to use you as an excuse to do something, an outlet for a feeling they’re having, it isn’t your responsibility to police their sexuality.

I’ve refrained from hooking up with guys because that desperation to escape their relationship is un-palatable. I’ve refrained because the fear of getting caught in their eyes made me feel like scum. I’ve refrained because it just doesn’t seem worth it.

But in general your relationship is not my problem.

I like giving advice because it’s like a fun puzzle to me in general, but if you’re looking for someone to be the little angel on your shoulder, you should look elsewhere.

Maturing is realizing how many things don’t require your comment.
Rachel Wolchin [x]

One Response to “Your Relationship, Your Problem”

  1. J November 16, 2014 at 2:06 pm #

    “I like giving advice because it’s like a fun puzzle to me in general, but if you’re looking for someone to be the little angel on your shoulder, you should look elsewhere.”

    NOT WRONG THERE! 😉

Leave a Reply

