Fridays Against Anti-Feminism: True Womenhood Edition

15 Aug

Alright, woman against feminism, lets take a look at your argument here.

First off, I’m going to do you a favor and excuse your grammar, because that would be a low blow. Maybe you are multiple people. Maybe you have a split personality disorder. I don’t know your life, I don’t know your choices. You (plural) love to cook for your men (plural) in your singular house. That sounds like a lot of dishes to me but hey, it’s your ruined manicure, not mine.

You believe that you don’t need feminism because you’d rather be a homemaker. Ok, I see your logic.

The current status quo is more than happy to let you continue languishing at the stove and sink, barefoot and pregnant in the kitchen.

But I must ask, do you have any interest in voting? It’s great that you’ve found something you like to do (cooking and cleaning for all your men) but what if one day you get fired from that job and have to find a new one. Or perhaps there isn’t enough money coming in and you are forced to find employment outside your home. Perhaps you’d like, say, the ability to be hired at a job you’d enjoy only slightly less. Perhaps feminism could help you out there by ensuring you’re not unfairly discriminated against, so you can land a job. Or by ensuring that you’ll be paid as much as your male counterparts. Or simply by elevating the social status of your housekeeping (yes, that is a part of feminism) so that when you do have to get this hypothetical job the potential employer sees your past at home as valuable.

So really your placard should read “I need feminism because my society sees me as a second class citizen for making life choices based on my desires while having a vagina.”

Point number two: Enjoying cooking and cleaning makes you more of a #TrueWomen than me? You consider yourself a woman and I consider myself a woman. That’s all it takes to be a woman. I do not see your leap in logic there.

Leave a Reply

