And Don’t Look Back

23 Jul

On the theme of leaving what makes you small:

I have been in relationships where a man has disrespected me, and I don’t need to be friends with that man anymore. I don’t want to be the one going, ‘I’m cool, because I’m friends with all my exes.’ There’s a reason why you’re called an ex. I crossed you off my list. Moving on. You cross a line, you need to know that you’re going to walk this earth knowing that there’s an individual who has no respect for you. 

— Zoe Saldana for Marie Claire Magazine, August 2014 [x]

Some people are exes because of something innocuous. They should have stayed just a friend, they were a great partner at that time and stopped being one.

But some people are exes because it took them a bit of time to show you how much they indeed did not respect you. And those people deserve to be dropped like a sack of hot potatoes.

Leave a Reply

