Dance With Me

13 Jun

Last night I went out to a bar and ended up dancing with some girls I met through work. They’re really lovely and we had a great time.

I’m a person who… tends to make anyone nearby look shy by comparison. Last night that thing happened that always happens. One of these women said she wanted to dance. I said, “Great, let’s go” and stood up. She got all flustered, “Oh, I can’t. You can. There are just so many people.”

I found us a clear spot to dance where we weren’t going to get knocked over or drinks spilled on us, I put our bags in a safe zone and then we started dancing with each other, jumping up and down singing dumb 90’s songs and being utterly ridiculous. And my favorite thing happened. By sheer force of happiness we started a big dance circle. I moved some tables out of the way and we ended up in a game of limbo with some guys nearby.

My new friends looked so beautiful and happy and comfortable. I know I’m an extreme extrovert and sometimes I have to stop myself from forcing my introverted friends to do things they don’t want to do. But when I see people I care about getting to have fun doing something they wouldn’t normally push themselves to do, it is my absolute favorite thing in the world.

One Response to “Dance With Me”

  1. Anonymous June 15, 2014 at 4:02 am #

Leave a Reply

