On Normalization

28 May

I love Questionable Content.

The comic. Get your head out of the gutter!

A comment I’ve heard about it a lot is that it normalizes lots of things that our media doesn’t usually. There’s a trans character and one with social anxiety, and one is a dominatrix. And everyone has baggage, you know, like in real life. And all those characters are treated with respect. Those qualities are not the most interesting things about them. They have hopes and dreams that have nothing to do with those aspects of their identities. It’s really beautiful.

Separately, I just read this article

What If We Admitted to Children That Sex Is Primarily About Pleasure?

And I realized that I was that kid. I remember my mom saying to me when I was little, “Sex is fun. It’s more fun with someone you love.” That was her line. Sort of a backhanded recommendation.

She normalized it. Just like QC normalizes Hannalore’s “thing about physical contact.”

We contain multitudes, every one of us. No one quality defines you. You are more interesting than that.

 

Leave a Reply

