Insufficient Self-ing Today

14 May

My best friend hates Zooey Deschanel, and by talking to her or looking at her bedroom you’d never understand why. She basically is that persona but in real life. She loves all things vintage and colorful and Anthropologie. And to her Deschanel is this manufactured and heightened version of all the things that my friend  actually is. Zooey sets an impossibly high bar for all the skills my friend already has.

For a long time I thought this was kind of silly. And then I saw the new Coco Mademoiselle ads.

And felt like the biggest failure in the world. I know that advertising sells us stuff by reminding us how inadequate we are. Buying the product of course will solve all our problems.

I guess I just needed a little reminder. Thanks Keira for that.

If your loved ones make you feel the most like yourself, who makes you feel the least?

 

One Response to “Insufficient Self-ing Today”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Self-ing Sufficiently Today | Female Gazing - June 20, 2014

    […] This picture/statement to me is the antithesis of the problem I have with Keira Knightley. […]

Leave a Reply

