Be Safe Out There

12 May

A first trimester abortion takes three to five minutes. It is safer than giving birth. There is no cutting, and risk of infertility is less than 1 percent. Yet women come into the clinic all the time terrified that they are going to be cut open, convinced that they won’t be able to have kids after the abortion. The misinformation is amazing, but think about it: They are still willing to sacrifice these things because they know that they can’t carry the child at this moment. [x]

Statistically speaking 1 in 3 American women will have an abortion in their lifetime. And anecdotally speaking I can say that I’ve already had a number of friends tell me their stories, and they’re all healthy, fertile people on the other side of it.

On the other hand, it’s lore in my family that my great grandmother had an abortion after her 5th child was born and my entire family remembers her being sick. Really sick, for a really long time.

Legalizing abortion doesn’t make it more common, just safer.

4 Responses to “Be Safe Out There”

  1. Kati May 12, 2014 at 12:31 pm #

    About 90-95 years ago, a great-great aunt of mine got pregnant by a married businessman. She was about 19. Her mother (known as a mean person) performed an abortion on her in the bathtub. She died shortly thereafter. The culture that killed her cannot ever be allowed to come back.

  2. Kati May 12, 2014 at 12:35 pm #

    Also, I find it interesting that only one person, a girl I barely know, has ever told me she’s had an abortion. I’m generally known as an open-minded and pro-choice person (as are a lot of my friends), and people have confided all sorts of other things in me. So either people are staying quiet (from me? from everyone?) or I know less abortion patients than the norm. I’m 27, white, more-or-less middle-class, and live in a large city in a fairly conservative midwestern state – not sure how those factors come into play.

    • Kati May 12, 2014 at 12:36 pm #

      Also, I can’t say, but going by anecdotes, I probably have more friends who have given birth than someone with my “stats” who lives in the northeast.

  3. nycstreetpoet May 13, 2014 at 9:32 pm #

    I’m 100% pro-choice. I’ve read up on abortion, and I know a few things about it (particularly second and third trimester) that make me a bit uncomfortable, but I know I have no right to impede a woman’s right to choose, and, furthermore, there are many stories you can find that explain the reasons why people have abortions. By and large, they aren’t being selfish or barbaric; there are real issues here. If you knew (and by “knew,” I’m not stating a hypothetical; there are many conditions that can be detected prenatally) you were carrying a child who had, for example, a rare bone disease that would cause that individual to live for up to twenty miserable years in agonizing pain, subjected to tests almost daily, can you honestly tell me you would carry that fetus to term?

Leave a Reply

