The First Rule of Internet Dating is You Do Not Talk About Internet Dating

11 Apr

You know what I hate?

When I meet a guy from OkCupid and since the only thing we have in common so far is OkCupid, he asks me how I’m enjoying OkCupid.

I’m not enjoying OkCupid. I’m engaging in a love/hate relationship with OkCupid. OkCupid is a necessary evil.

But there’s no way for me to say that nicely so instead I just resent being asked the question.

I have, as of late, come up with a great workaround for this though. It’s especially great for dates that are off to an awkward start.

“I have this game I like to play on first dates. Do you want to play? Cool, so my friend… uh Becca is dating your friend… Nathan? And they set us up tonight. Becca told you two facts about me, that I’m 1) a blogger and 2) a life-long New Yorker. And Nathan told me two facts about you… That you’re…?”

May the force be with you friends.

Leave a Reply

