Here’s to How I Met Your Mother and Living Long Lives

2 Apr

At this point I’m going to assume that everyone either has seen the finale of How I Met Your Mother because you just couldn’t stop watching no matter how hard you tried, or that you just seriously don’t care. So, fair warning on spoilers.

I didn’t really enjoy watching the finale. It was like a lot of television finales, a lot of exposition, a lot of information to choke down, a lot of endings to tie up. You’re sitting there checking them off your list more than you’re enjoying the show. It’s kind of the opposite of the pilot episode, everything takes work, nothing is easy.

But that’s what happens with most finales.

I really really enjoyed the moral of the finale.

I really enjoyed going to bed afterwards thinking about how even larger than the ending itself, larger than the story about these characters, the ending was actually about how you can love more than one person in a lifetime. How you can still be with someone who doesn’t want the things that were so important to you because life is long and circumstances change. And everyone deserves a third act.

Do I care about the fantasy lives of these made up characters in their fantasy future? Of course not. It’s a TV show.

Do I care about the idea that there is life after the loss of a loved one? Yes.

Do I care about the idea that you can want kids and still end up with both kids, and the person you love who doesn’t want kids because a life is a long thing and things happen and circumstances change?

Yes.

Yes, I do care about that.

So, yeah, I loved the ending. It was exactly what Ted “She’ll be perfect” Mosby would have wanted and also what Me “Please lower your expectations because you’re stressing me out” Myself would have wanted.

At the same time we saw that love can be instantaneous, like Ted has always professed, and can also take a lifetime, like us cynics have always wanted to scream at him.

Ted has always believed that he would get that perfect The One You Spend Your Life With one day, and it turned out that in MacLaren’s, just like in the real world, sometimes you don’t get TOYSYLW, you just get Love. Good capital-L Love with all the people who deserve it.

Because eventually everything and everyone will come and go.

So you might as well love everything and everyone you can while you can.

2 Responses to “Here’s to How I Met Your Mother and Living Long Lives”

  1. rous291977 April 2, 2014 at 12:07 pm #

    One of the most right on posts you’ve done.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. rous291977 April 2, 2014 at 12:09 pm #

    How do I link this to FB? 🙂

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

