A Poem On Moving On

10 Feb

You were a jerk.
You are no longer a jerk to me because now when I see your face I walk away and find a face I like.

You made me feel small.
You no longer make me feel small because the places where you used to get in and shrink me aren’t permeable to you anymore.

I don’t forgive you because you didn’t care one way or another to be forgiven.
I have however forgiven myself because my hatred for you was keeping me down, keeping you around.

And now you don’t exist anymore. I’ve forgotten your pointy nails, your harsh jabs. They’re part of a past life. But my pyramid was filled only with the things I wanted to bring with me the next time around.

And what a wonderful life this new one has been.

Leave a Reply

