My Body, The Mountain

11 Dec

But I guess ultimately what scares me about marriage is where do you find this person? You know a lot of times, most successful relationships, people meet through work, school, mutual friends.

But what’s most interesting to me is when people just meet in life, just randomly.

You know, I have a friend, he got married, I asked him like “Hey, uh, where’d you meet your wife?” He was like “I was leaving Bed, Bath & Beyond. I was looking for my car – I drive a gray Prius. I saw a different gray Prius, I thought it was mine, I walked up to it, I realized I had the wrong car, but I bumped into Carol, we started talking, that was that”. That’s unbelievable.

Think about all the random factors that had to come together to make this one moment possible – this one moment that changed these two people’s entire lives:

First off, this guy has to live in this particular town. Then he has to get a gray Prius. Then he has to need to go to Bed, Bath & Beyond. Then he has to go to that particular Bed, Bath & Beyond. Then there has to be another guy who also lives in town, also drives a gray Prius, also needs to go to Bed, Bath & Beyond, also goes to that particular Bed, Bath & Beyond at around the same time. Then they have to both park somewhat near each other, my friend has to leave before the other guy leaves, see the wrong Prius, think it’s his, walk up to it. Then the woman, Carol, needs to be near the wrong gray Prius for a million other random reasons. They bump into each other, they start talking, their entire lives are changed.

That’s the most amazing and terrifying thing about life.

It is, cause the amazing thing is that at any moment, any one of us can have that moment that totally changes our lives. You could be leaving the show tonight, bump into someone… it could change your life. You don’t know, that could happen.

The terrifying thing is… what if we’re all supposed to be at Bed Bath & Beyond right now?

– Aziz AnsariBuried Alive  (via baveuile)

Today was one of those days where I felt like I was in the right place at the right time all day.

This morning I decided that my body has been languishing and decided to go to a yoga class. And it turned out to be one of the best I’ve ever had.

The instructor had an adorably unplaceable accent and she kept saying wonderful things like

“look at your feet.
They’re right there, under your body.”

And

“Wherever you are right, touching your knees, your toes or just lying on the mat, that’s exactly where you’re supposed to be right now.”

It got me thinking about the miracle of biology. How we can be more flexible on one side than the other. That’s just how this body works. It’s where it’s supposed to be because that’s where it is.

Or how some bodies grow hair that is bright red all over. Every piece. That’s just how that body does it. What an insanely cool biological world we live in where that can happen.

When I was in college I had an assignment where I had to make up a character and the teacher wanted us to get as specific as possible. Birthday, allergies, moles, piercings, number of wisdom teeth, on and on.

Your body is a pile of these things. And maybe they’re all on purpose and maybe they’re not but they’re all definitely features and not bugs. And they’re here to stay.

It’s hard to be sad about your body when you think of it as a landscape. You don’t criticize a mountain for being too big, or a valley for being too winding, and no one ever complains about the vastness of the sea. You are part of the earth and you are so beautiful friends.

Evol

Leave a Reply

