My Greatest Fear

16 Oct

Charlieissocoollike is afraid of death. Nothing against him, it’s not like he’s the only one.

But as I watch that video I keep asking myself why the idea that we are all going to die one day is so scary.

You’re a ghost driving a meat coated skeleton made from stardust, what do you have to be scared of?

– Porkbeard 

It’s just a fact. I’m gonna die, you’re gonna die, the earth is gonna die, the universe is gonna die. In some ways it’s really comforting. It’s something we all have in common. You and your greatest enemy are both gonna die. You, me, my landlord, and the homeless man who lived by my old elementary school are all gonna die.

Hosenose died.

In fact I’m more disturbed by the idea that Hosenose injured his tail during his lifetime than that he died.

In some ways the fact that billions of people have already done it makes it less scary to me.

So my greatest fear isn’t death. I’m not even scared about the thought that one day there will be no one alive who remembers me.

I’m way too busy being scared of how I’m going to injure myself trying to kill a moth.

If the inevitability of human oblivion worries you, I encourage you to ignore it.”
– John Green, The Fault in Our Stars, 2012

One Response to “My Greatest Fear”

  1. Aliona August 4, 2014 at 11:14 pm #

    This is really inrteesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

Leave a Reply

