How To Comfort

18 Sep

Sometimes my best friend calls me when she’s upset and gives me the brief outline of what happened.

And when I don’t know how to comfort her I ask her this question:

Do you want to talk about it or do you want me to distract you?

Sometimes she says talk and we talk.

Sometimes she says distract and so I tell her about the new t-shirt I just bought and the amazing tv show I just finished.

Sometimes she says both and so we talk and then when we run out of stuff to say about it I ramble about nail polish colors until her breathing is steady again.

Sometimes you need to ask how someone wants to be comforted.

And now for my favorite words on comfort here is Elmo.

Leave a Reply

