Good Riddance to Bad Rubbish

21 Jun

Today I ran into my high school best friend. Or nemesis really. Any girl who grows up in America knows the two are more interchangeable than you would think. And I shouldn’t say ran into, I should say saw and then watched from a comfortable distance of a few feet like the creepiest creeper.

She was standing on the sidewalk wearing her normal bored expression and talking on the phone. She was waiting on the phone, for whoever was on the other end and she looked with glazed, unhappy, unseeing eyes into the crowd, right through me.

As I headed down the street, right past her, on break from the job I love to buy delicious ice cream I realized how true it is what they say, living well is the best revenge.

Leave a Reply

