Love Yourself Like Kanye Loves Himself

3 Jun

On Friday I talked about how I like to walk into a bar and announce to myself that I’m the boss-est BAMF in the place. Nicki Minaj’s kind of ‘boss.’ And I wanted to spend a few words on the importance of knowing your own importance.

  1. love yourself like kanye loves himself
  2. believe in yourself like kanye believes in himself
  3. know you’re the shit like kanye knows he’s the shit [x]

I am not a fan of Kanye’s but I can’t help but agree with the sentiment. This is an example of the “Are the menfolk worried about this?” test. Are the menfolk worried about being considered insufficiently humble? No, not really. At least not to the same degree.

Every time I give myself a compliment I hear someone somewhere rolling their eyes at my lack of modesty and I think;

Having a low opinion of yourself is not modesty. It’s self-destruction.
– Bobby Sommer [x]

And when everyone around you says “ugh, you can’t say that about yourself, you need to wait for us to say it” I say go screw yourself. My opinions about myself are more important than your opinions about myself. And I resent your suggesting otherwise.

If Kanye can believe in himself then so can you.

Sorry Kanye, I’m really happy for you, I’ma let you finish but FemaleGazing is one of the best blogers of all time!

Leave a Reply

