Be Kind To Yourself

8 May

A few months ago I was working on a show and on one day it went so terribly I couldn’t stand it. I called my friend and just cried on the phone. And then I had a shot of tequila.

He said that in theater we tend to “live by the show, die by the show.” And sometimes that’s ok, but sometimes it means that death is particularly painful. And you learn and you never make that mistake again but you have to keep going.

You are not your mistakes. You are smarter, better, a greater person than the person who made those mistakes.

Learn from those mistakes but don’t let them define you like I did that day. You get so much farther by forgiving yourself.

Leave a Reply

