I’ll See Your Vanity And Raise You A Screw Off

26 Apr

“The mirror was often used as a symbol of the vanity of woman. The moralizing, however, was mostly hypocritical. You painted a naked woman because you enjoyed looking at her, you put a mirror in her hand and you called the painting Vanity, thus morally condemning the woman whose nakedness you depicted for your own pleasure…” [x]

It is not vain of me to appreciate my own reflection if it is equally not bad of you to “compliment” me on it. That is a double standard. You’re allowed to appreciate my beauty but if I do then its funny or rude?

If you feel like you need permission to indulge in vanity, this is it.

You are allowed to think you look beautiful, pretty, handsome, dashing, lovely, what have you.

You are allowed to take tons of selfies.

You are allowed to get lost in your own eyes in the mirror.

You are allowed to strut your stuff.

You are allowed to think you’re a pretty rad person.

You are allowed to love the fuck out of yourself. [x]

I remember one day when I was a kid at summer camp I was looking in the mirror and realized that my eyes weren’t just brown like my mom always told me but they had green in them. Green that reached towards the center and back out again like a zig zag watercolor. I remember thinking, wow, that is so beautiful. I’ve never noticed that before. And when I turned to my friend and said “Hey, my eyes have green in them!” she said “Were you just staring into your own eyes in the mirror?!”

Why is that so bad? They are beautiful and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of looking at beautiful things.

For a very long time women have been told that whatever they’re doing is the wrong thing.

Womens’ supposed greater sex drive was an argument for their inferiority, but once the assumption became reversed, no one argued that mens’ lustfulness was a sign of a fundamental irrationality that should preclude them from business and politics. Rather than a handicap, a large sexual appetite was positive once it came to be seen as a characteristic of men. Women, being passionless, supposedly lacked the drive and ambition to succeed. Much like sex, the public realm of work was dirty and distasteful, hardly suitable to womens’ delicate sensibilities.
When Women Wanted Sex Much More Than Men

F you. I’m going to look on the mirror when I want and avoid it when I don’t and there is nothing you can say to change my mind. I have autonomy over my body and my actions and my actions towards my body. If you call me vain or make fun of me for announcing that I am a sexy minx then I don’t have any room for you in my life.

Remember, self love is

 

Leave a Reply

