Mourning the Loss of Girls

28 Mar

I just watched the Girls season 2 finale. And then, because I can’t get enough, I also watched Lena Dunham’s commentary on the episode and she said something that I loved (this post contains spoilers which everyone who watched the rest of season 2 saw coming. Also, sidebar; one of the things I love about this show is that it’s like a book where you know the main character is dead by the end. You know what’s coming in the back of your head but knowing the ending only makes you appreciate the journey more).

In the episode, (here’s the spoiler-y part) Shoshanna broke up with her boyfriend Ray.

In the interview, Lena says that Shoshanna breaks up with Ray because she feels like:

‘You cant convince me of anything I’m just done with you I just need space’

and I think that’s a very real phenomenon especially with young people,

‘You can’t say anything you can’t do anything I just need to be alone and I can’t explain myself.’

I know it’s ironic (in the worst way) to hold up Girls which has come under such heavy fire for being such a kyriarchy-fail and having such a whitewashed cast and say ‘representation is important.’

But in my most privileged moment I’ll say; even representation of your emotions is important.

In a society flooded with Disney princesses and Cosmo teaching you how to ‘get the guy,’ a society that tells us that ‘alone isn’t a choice, it’s just a failure to be coupled’, it’s nice to have a media source reflect how the viewers are actually feeling and tell them ‘Hey, that’s ok too, that happens and it doesn’t make you a bad person.’

So above and beyond Lena Dunham’s beautiful body, even more than the wonderful snark or the shots of my hometown that make me want to see more of it, seeing that my deepest darkest fears are not something I should be afraid of at all, is why I’m looking forward to Season 3.

And now that I’ve offended everyone here is a hint to Dunham on how she can improve on her product for next year.

Mae Jemison was inspired to become an astronaut after watching Nichelle Nichols as Uhura on Star Trek.

When people argue that messages on tv, or in magazines, or what have you, don’t have an impact, they’re normally saying it from a place of ignorance, having never felt like they are in no way represented.

That’s why we had the year of arguments about Lena Dunham’s Girls – not because minorities are petty about being ‘included’, but because it’s actually necessary to fight against the idea that diversity doesn’t need to exist in fiction.

So well done Dunham about representing me to a T, lets work on getting some other people in there now.

Leave a Reply

