I Can’t Just Lighten Up, And I Don’t Want To

18 Mar

I spend a lot of time looking at the internet, looking for articles to write about, .gifs to express my fatigue at republicans and images that explain a feeling I can’t begin to put into words

Sometimes I find a picture that instantly makes me understand a concept I’ve had explained to me dozens of times. Like the one above. My best friend often finds it very difficult to be happy. And since we met I’ve spent hours telling her to fake the smile til she makes it, to go to her happy place and will herself to shelve the bad thoughts. And this image was a slap in the face. I was wrong, I’m sorry. I see now that I was hurting instead of helping.

And so I’m revising my advice, I’m going from the above image to the one below. Because I don’t need you to always be happy, I just need you to always be healthy and always be you.

I love you.

Leave a Reply

