For The Grievers

13 Jan

People are supposed to care. It’s good that people mean something to you, that you miss people when they’re gone.

– An Abundance of Katherines, John Green

Normality is a paved road. It is comfortable to walk but no flowers grow on it.

– Vincent van Gogh

The best thing anyone has said to me in the last few weeks was a text message from a friend I haven’t seen in a long while.  She said It won’t get better, but it will change.  

I won’t ever stop missing him.  I won’t ever not wish he was here.  But that’s what is supposed to happen.  Maybe the feeling won’t get better.  But grief’s visits will change.

It’s not as keen. Well, it’s not as present, how about that? It’s just as keen but not as present. But it will always accept the invitation. Grief will always accept the invitation to appear. It’s got plenty of time for you. That’s right. ‘I’ll be here when you need me.’ The interesting thing about grief, I think, is that it is its own size. It is not the size of you. It is its own size. And grief comes to you. You know what I mean? I’ve always liked that phrase He was visited by grief, because that’s really what it is. Grief is its own thing. It’s not like it’s in me, and I’m going to deal with it. It’s a thing, and you have to be okay with its presence. If you try to ignore it, it will be like a wolf at your door.

-Stephen Colbert [x]

Leave a Reply

