Feminism Weakening Men

28 Nov

I found these at Sociological Images.

I don’t know what I can really say about them other than that women gaining the right to vote did not end up weakening men.

Oh the horror.

This trope is one we see trotted out again and again.

It is based on fear.

Fear.

“True gender equality is actually perceived as inequality. A group that is made up of 50% women is perceived as being mostly women. A situation that is perfectly equal between men and women is perceived as being biased in favor of women.
And if you don’t believe me, you’ve never been a married woman who kept her family name. I have had students hold that up as proof of my “sexism.”
My own brother told me that he could never marry a woman who kept her name because “everyone would know who ruled that relationship.” Perfect equality – my husband keeps his name and I keep mine – is held as a statement of superiority on my part.”

– Lucy, When Worlds Collide: Fandom and Male Privilege.

 

One Response to “Feminism Weakening Men”

  1. Kati November 29, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    If I didn’t know better, I’d think these were made satirically to point out how shitty women’s lives were back then (if the prevailing gender expectations were forced upon them) and how scared men should be of having to live that way, because they suck!

Leave a Reply

