Hotel Transylvania

16 Nov

I saw Hotel Transylvania.

“I went to see the first Sex In the City movie. You know, because I was just looking for… a chick flick, you know. I wasn’t looking for any sort of emotion… I was just… in New York that weekend, my best girl friend was with me. So we go and sit down and watch a movie… and there’s Jennifer Hudson doing Mammy and we were like ((gasp)) But why didn’t anyone tell us? And why would that be necessary? …why—in a movie about 21st Century women living in New York who’ve never bothered to meet any black women during the entire time that they’ve lived in New York on the television show—must they now suddenly have a Mammy? And why does it have to be Jennifer Hudson, who we love? … why is this happening? …why am I having to have a black feminist moment when I’m trying to try to see, like, a fun movie?! … this is the point I’m trying to make… you can just be wandering through your life, not really trying to have a race or gender experience, and then here comes an image. Here comes the tilt[ed worldview]. And you’ve got to figure out… how to engage that crooked image.”

-Melissa Harris-Perry @ UCSD [x]

I love this part of her speech so much! It’s a fantastic response to that meme where people in fandom and the mainstream talk about how people who point out problems with media are just “trying to be offended.” Nooo. People want to live their lives and the offensive crap just keeps popping up! [x]

Hotel Transylvania was supposed to be a silly night out with a friend I never get to see.  It’s a kids movie for goodness sake.  We thought we’d be laughing at fart jokes all night long.  But alas no.

In the first 10 minutes the only females we see are the protagonist’s daughter who he endlessly vows to protect and keep safe, and his wife who has already found her way into the metaphorical refrigerator.

After this it’s another 10 minutes until we meet another female.  She is Frankenstein’s Monster’s harpy wife who nags him for a minute and then another male character puts her head back in her box, sits on it and announces “You’re welcome.”  Not a great start.

The next woman we see is pregnant for the umpteenth time and her husband is equally frustrated with her.

The next one is a mummy who was clearly traced from Jessica Rabbit.

The next notable woman appeared in order to eat humorously large things like scooters.  She looked kind of like Roz from Monsters Inc.

Catherine and I knew we were in trouble when we got to the Mrs. Frankenstein but we didn’t realize just how bad it was going to get until almost the credits.  (I would put a spoiler warning here but I really hope you don’t see the movie) In the end we learn that the moral is that the uptight dad should be less uptight and that Fridge-mom’s dying wish was for her daughter to believe in love at first sight.

I spent $13 to laugh about farts and ended up being bombarded with virginity euphemisms, Smurfettes, Fridge-Women and other sexist tropes.

It’s so disappointing that a film for children billed as teaching “don’t be mean to people just because they’re different” can be so offensive.  Such a disappointment.

2 Responses to “Hotel Transylvania”

  1. Kaitlyn November 16, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    I have not seen Hotel Transylvania, so I cannot comment. But I want to address Sex and the City.

    I saw Sex and the City as well and was happy to see Jennifer Hudson in the film. When I go to a film, I don’t count how many people of color I see. I question people who claim to not be racist, yet are the first to throw down the race card. I don’t get it. When I watch Sex and City, I don’t think about race; I think about four friends who have ridiculously unrealistic and fabulous lives. The only people I see who keep racism alive, are those consistently making it an issue. People are more than their skin color.

    On another note, why not complain that none of the women on Sex in the City are from lower incomes? Or are gay? Or heavy-set? Or Hispanic? But instead, color is the issue that is focused on. Would it have made you feel better if Jennifer Hudson were not cast at all?

    Lastly, the show is NOT REAL. I don’t think anyone watches Sex and the City because of it’s gripping realism. It’s escapist entertainment. It’s fantasy.

    Personally, I would rather focus on uniting people rather finding ways to divide them through race or any other element. I don’t know why we can’t see people for their intellect, personality, sense of humor, talent etc. Instead, what is it that matters? Race. Apparently, I guess diversity is only skin deep.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sex And The City And Kyriarchy « Female Gazing - November 18, 2012

    […] A comment on Hotel Transylvania: […]

Leave a Reply

