Life Is Random

30 Oct

The winds have died down and the rain has stopped.  The greatest remaining evidence of Hurricane Sandy in my neighborhood is a 100 year old tree lying across a beautiful street with it’s roots reaching up to the sky.

When I woke up this morning the news was already on in my house and people were talking about death tolls.  Apparently a couple had been crushed by a tree in my neighborhood.  My mother and her Pick a Little ladies were chattering on the phone about it.

As I got into bed tonight and checked facebook I saw in my newsfeed that a friend (you know the kind.  The kind that you frequently stalk but haven’t spoken to in years) had posted a status mourning the loss of her friend.

A quick google search told me that I knew half of the young couple killed in the storm not more than 4 blocks from my house.  I went to high school with her.  I remember listening to her tell me why she was choosing UPenn.  We had gym class together for at least a quarter.  I ate lunch with her and was jealous of her grades, her AP test scores.

I wouldn’t say I was close with her, after all we aren’t even friends on facebook.  But, small as it might have been, I acknowledge her presence in my life and her tragic passing.  It just goes to show that anything can happen. And it can happen to anyone.

As Esther (another smart young person who met an untimely end) said: The dead live on in the memory and the lives they have touched.

Let your spirit rest upon all who are ill and comfort them. May they and we soon know a time of complete healing, a healing of the body and a healing of the spirit.

If you’d like to donate please Click here.

Leave a Reply

