Ugly Is A Construct Too

28 Apr

“You are just never happy with the way you look. No matter how hard I tried or how little I ate that whole day hoping my stomach would stay flat and I would have some sort of resemblance of an ab maybe. It doesn’t matter. You look at it and go ‘Grrr, I should’ve not eaten for a week before. Oh well!”

– Katherine Heigl tells Showbiz about low self-esteem

Recently (since I changed my hair) it seems everyone is quick to compare me to miss Jennifer Grey (pre-nose-job of course) and so when I came across this broadblogs post I was immediately interested.  Little did I know it would be absolutely brilliant.  From Broadblogs:

When women evaluate their physical attractiveness, they compare themselves with an idealized standard of beauty, such as a fashion model. In contrast, when both men and women evaluate their intelligence, they do not compare themselves to Einstein, but rather to a more mundane standard.

The article’s main point is that there is a reason your self-esteem is so low and it’s probably one of these.

You compare yourself to models
You must be perfect all the time
You think everyone’s judging your flaws
Your parents put you down
Your parents praised your looks
You got chuckles and stares as a kid

Feel familiar?  I think that for every person in the western world at least one of these are probably true and for every woman at least two.  So is it any wonder that I can count on one hand the number of women I know who have really amazing body image?  Not really.

It’s not your face or your body that is unattractive.  I like to think that it wasn’t Grey’s nose or her plastic surgery that was her downfall but the fact that her low self esteem won out.

So next time you’re really nervous about a pimple or your big teeth remember that you’re probably a lot hotter than you think.  And that in truth it doesn’t really matter because everyone else is too busy worrying about what they look like while you are doing more worthwhile things and basking in your incredible self confidence.

Ugly is irrelevant. It is an immeasurable insult to a woman, and then supposedly the worst crime you can commit as a woman. But ugly, as beautiful, is an illusion. A matter of taste, a whim, an eye, a beholder, an opinion, a spin, light crossing the frame, paint, projection. The moment. Context.

~Margaret Cho (via light-essence)

One Response to “Ugly Is A Construct Too”

  1. BroadBlogs May 14, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    Thanks for referencing my blog!

Leave a Reply

