A Feminist Sub

18 Apr

Lately I’ve found a new blog to adore.  afeministsub.wordpress.com makes me really happy.  She says a lot of great stuff but at this point nothing tops (pun intended) the subtitle of the blog itself.

A FEMINIST SUB

BECAUSE THEY’RE OBVIOUSLY NOT MUTUALLY EXCLUSIVE.

Hell yeah.  Simple, sweet, and true.

Feminism is about seeing the whole world instead of half, opening your eyes and seeing how other people experience life in skin that isn’t your own.

Enjoying being submissive is about what turns your crank.  The two are completely separate and found together surprisingly often.  I tend to think it’s because feminist people tend to be geeky people and geeky people tend to enjoy complicated problems, hence the “like, 90% of both groups” crossover between ‘geeky’ and ‘kinky.’ [x]

Nonetheless, that one statement makes me think of this Walt Whitman Quote.

“Do I contradict myself? Very well, then, I contradict myself; I am large — I contain multitudes.”
― Walt Whitman

While being a feminist and a sub may not be contradictions, I am a seething mass of contradictions.  What can I say?  I contain multitudes.  All interesting people do.

One Response to “A Feminist Sub”

  1. J. Dickinson Goodman (@JessiDG) April 18, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    I think Mistress Matisse explained the overlap between geeks and kinksters by saying that:

    1) Kink involves skill acquisition which feels like leveling-up (learning new knots, amassing vocabulary terms, gathering items for play)

    2) It involves problem-solving (we’re both subs, ok, hmm, switch time!)

    3) It gives clear rules for social interaction (say cucumber for go, banana for slow down, apple for stop; self-identified cross-dressers are usually straight men while a transgendered woman may have man parts but is a woman and a butch lesbian woman may also wear male closes but is a cis-gendered woman).

    Skill acquisition, problem-solving, and a need for social rules are all good reasons for geeks and kinksters to share a common home.

Leave a Reply

