Smile, Girl

9 Feb

This made me so happy today I could barely contain myself.  This is exactly what it feels like every single time (and yes, often, very often) a man on the street tells me to smile.

If you can’t read it the copy says “Smile, girl.  You’re too pretty to let your own feelings interfere with my viewing pleasure.”

This is why street harassment is not complimentary.  This is why when strange men tell me to smile I want to lash out like an angry straw feminist archetype.

I am not a piece of art here for your viewing pleasure.  I’m a freaking person and I can have whatever emotion I want even if it makes me slightly less fun for you.

Leave a Reply

