Do You See What I See?

13 Oct

Alright guys, forgive me because I’m basically going to rip off a Sociological Images post word for word (again?).  To be fair though I saw these images before the post came out and I’m going to use far fewer words than they did.

I’m going to let the pictures speak for themselves.

Why do these men make you so uncomfortable?

Is it because women are just sexier people?  I don’t think so.  Just type ‘man yoga’ into google. HOT.  

I called a man beautiful recently.  I said it to his face and it felt really good.  I didn’t call him handsome, I didn’t call him hot, (he’s both of those things, but more importantly) he’s beautiful.  Corinna describes men as beautiful.  And I think that using that word is beautiful.  And that being defined by that word can have it’s own sort of beauty.

Men can be just as beautiful as women can.  When people say that beauty is in the eye of the beholder, it’s not just women who are in the eye and not just men who are the beholder.

And yet the fact that we assume its so tells us that we automatically assume that the beholden is a woman and that the beholder is a man.

A few years back Lisa Kudrow, of Friends fame, told Jay Leno that female nudity is displayed more in movies because, “Who wants to look at a guy?”

I do.

Men are sexy because they are viewed through my eyes, the eyes of a person who likes men.

To say that women are simply sexier than men is to say that all people see people as men see people.  I’m not a man.  I disagree.

How do you feel?

6 Responses to “Do You See What I See?”

  1. BroadBlogs October 14, 2011 at 12:52 am #

    I agree that it’s not natural to find women sexier. But as a culture that’s how we are socialized to see. Which can cause problems. Some have talked of female sexual alienation. The man sees her as hot. She sees him as less hot. She’s the hot one, after all. What happens then?

  2. H December 2, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    Lol is this the same person who writes all the other blogs about how women are so much sexier than men etc? You sure know how to make a guy feel unwanted, alot of your comparisons between men and women have been between fat ugly out of shape men compared to female models, basically ignoring anything gender specific and focusing on traits that are ugly or beautiful in either gender but talking of females purely positively and males negatively, males can be tanned, slim, rippling abs and biceps etc but I haven’t seen this type of male appear much in your blogs while it flourishes in our culture as girls drool at the likes of Hugh jackman, Taylor launtner, brad Pitt, George clooney and dare I say it, bieber, I think your blogs have been really sexist and representing males in an unfair light!

    Your other blog about females finding females sexier was factually inaccurate, I’ve seen the study and the article with quotes from the scientists who performed it, who funnily enough drew very different conclusions than you did! First of all, the blood flow to the vagina wasn’t greater when viewing female images, the main point was that it was occurring as well which was pretty much dismissed by the scientists as a great indicator for arousal when they got the same response for baboons!!! The general conclusion drawn by the conducting scientists was that by viewing sexual activity women were reminded of sex and a sexual response was triggered in the brain, please have a look at the survey again, you will see your conclusion is completely incorrect

    • Female Gazing December 2, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

      Dear Anon,
      I think you have me confused with someone else and have completely missed the entire purpose of my blog.
      In this specific post my intention was to show how men are sexy and beautiful yet when men pose to be gazed at, they instinctively emulate and mock women because they feel that being gazed at like a woman is demeaning.
      Also, I don’t think I have any pictures of ugly men on my blog. I post pictures of men I find sexy. If you want to call them ugly and fat then that’s you being judgmental.
      As far as the findings that women think women are sexy, I wasn’t saying that women are more turned on by other women but that they are socialized to look at women and judge them as sexy or not, but that we aren’t allowed to ask men to be sexy for us in the same way.
      It would appear that you may need to get your glasses checked Anon. I hope you do and that you can see that I’m not trying to attack men or make them feel unwanted but trying to free them from the bonds of patriarchy as well.
      Thanks,
      FemaleGazing

  3. Derek Morgan October 26, 2012 at 12:10 am #

    Interesting point. The man in the first picture is a extremely ridiculous man. The woman in the next picture is an incredibly hot babe. Most of times, men are depicted as ugly and fat (while actually, women are fatter than men) Is true, men can also be sexy.

  4. John November 13, 2012 at 1:12 am #

    What annoys me is that men have be ‘ripped’ or exception to even be considered sexy. Whereas an ordinary man, like Sacha Baron Cohen, doesn’t do anything physically for women. But why not? Women have been trained to see the first image as sunny/ridiculous/embarrassing, but not the image of Jennifer Anniston? But why? Because naked women are EXPECTED, naked men well, are just weird. But why? What about naked women should a straight woman find SEXIER than an ordinary naked man? They’re not all that different. People are so conditioned it’s ridiculous, they’re as programmable as robots, I’ve found.

  5. Kouki July 6, 2015 at 2:02 pm #

    I think this is a sort of brainwashing the media/society does to generations of humans…

    I mean, if you see how women in some countries like Egypt respond to “female genital mutilation”, there are actually women there who WANT it to continue, and it’s like… just why? There are little girls like elementary school age who WANT IT, because it’s “cool” and they get bullied for not having their genitals… mutilated.

    I think they must have been brainwashed into thinking it’s “natural” or “necessary”. The men in history who had misogynist intentions to dispose of female sexuality/pleasure have brainwashed these women to think it’s how they’re supposed to be and there’s no other way and they aren’t allowed to be outspoken about what they want.

    That’s just my guess… but it makes sense, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

