This Is For My Girls All Around The World

6 Oct

I’m not the biggest fan of Christina Aguilera.  She’s no James Taylor.  But I just heard this song today.

And today I love Miss Chris.

This is what ‘Runs the World’ should be.

Just look at the two songs.

First I’d just like to point out how dynamic and interesting the Aguilera song is compared to Beyonce’s.

Aguilera reminds us that if a guy doesn’t respect you, it’s all the more reason to speak your mind.

This is for my girls all around the world
Who have come across a man that don’t respect your worth
Thinking all women should be seen not heard
So what do we do, girls, shout louder!

And brings attention to the double standard.

If you look back in history
It’s a common double standard of society
The guy gets all the glory, the more he can score
While the girl can do the same and yet you call her a whore.

While Beyonce reminds us that she’s Helen of Troy and can screw a man into doing what she wants.

My persuasion can build a nation
Endless power, the love we can devour
You’ll do anything for me.

I remember a time when Christina was considered the worst role model for your teenage daughter.  But who do you want influencing your child?  The woman who tells her to fight for her rights or the one who tells her to prostitute herself because it’s the only way to ‘endless power’?

3 Responses to “This Is For My Girls All Around The World”

  1. suicidewinder October 26, 2011 at 12:45 am #

    I remember that song 🙂 I loved Christina when I was younger, and I’m still fond of her, because she was upfront and unapologetic about her sexuality – maybe not completely, but about as upfront as a female pop artist can be if she wants to be marketable. Probably the same reason she was considered a terrible role model – no one wants their young girls to grow up with a healthy attitude about sex. Heaven forbid.

    Beyonce’s song, to me, seems like an echo of the patriarchal trope that women have endless power over men because of men’s uncontrollable sex drives. I’m not the first to have thought that if this were really true, the U.S. would have had a female President by now. It’s a ploy to make women feel like we have power, so we won’t notice the fact that we’re continually denied any real power.

    • Female Gazing October 26, 2011 at 9:54 am #

      I couldn’t have said it any better myself.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It Gets Better « Female Gazing - February 21, 2012

    […] I’ll take the Beyonce. reactLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Leave a Reply

