Why This Job Now?

7 Mar

I think this is why I make art.

I’m graduating soon, which of course means my obligatory crisis of faith is fast approaching.  And I’ve been asking myself why I want to work in theater.  And I’ve been asking myself if I want to work in theater.  And the answers don’t always please me.  And I’m pretty sure they wouldn’t please the people who have been paying for my education for the last four years.

This guy visits cities going through horrible terror, war, poverty, you name it.  And he makes their lives better through art.  And through him, their stories, their struggles, their hardships can travel and we can stand with them.  And they can live another day knowing someone cares.

Because maybe art doesn’t change the world.  But at least everything you see changes you a little.

Leave a Reply

