Open Letter To Pro-Lifers

10 Feb

Dear Pro-Lifer,

I appreciate your desire that my unborn and those of my sisters should live.

What I do not appreciate is your underlying presumption that outlawing abortion would make women need them any less.

Instead of making them more desperate to do more dangerous things.

But your presumption that the decision you made for your body and your fetus is obviously going to be the right decision for every woman is ignorant and self righteous.  I’m glad that your convictions make this such an easy decision for you.  I am honestly happy for you that you can be so satisfied with this “plan” that a higher power made for your life.

But just as some people like celery and some people hate it, some people love the idea of a grand scheme and others hate it.

And some people just CANNOT be pregnant right now for all sorts of reasons.

You believe that outlawing abortion will make them stop happening.  That makes you both wrong and ridiculous.

A woman in a country where abortion is illegal will have an illegal abortion.  She will be more desperate for worse medical care putting her at higher risk for bigger problems.  And if there are complications, she won’t be able to be treated for them, for fear of outing herself as a criminal.

I appreciate your looking out for the health of my fetus.  I don’t care for your disregard for the health of my sisters whom you are putting in a very desperate situation.

I don’t want to ever have an abortion.  I wouldn’t wish that decision on anyone ever.  But outlawing it will NOT fix the problem.  It will only cause more problems.

Thanks,

A non-pregnant college co-ed.

3 Responses to “Open Letter To Pro-Lifers”

  1. elenamusic February 10, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    Well said. I totally agree.

  2. DeMarko February 10, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    ELIZE I FEEL YOU NEED TO SEE THIS POST-HASTE:

  3. tipsydressedupready4action February 13, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    i just want to crawl into your lap and hug you.

Leave a Reply

