You Are An Object

2 Feb

I’ve said before that I follow a lot of tumblr’s.

One of my guilty pleasure tumblr’s is called You Are An Object

I think it’s pretty obvious why.

The header reads as follows:

YOU ARE AN OBJECT: 

A PLACE TO TREAT BROS LIKE GIRLS.

THE GREEKS USED TO DO THE SAME THING, ONLY IN CAVES AND WITH SCULPTURES AND STUFF–THERE’S BOOKS ABOUT IT. IT’S LIKE A WHOLE THING IN HISTORY OR WHATEVER. I GOOGLED IT.

A place to treat bro’s like girls.  I used to think boys and girls were equal terms but I guess now it’s changed to bros.  Um, okay?

I also like how very threatening that line is.  ‘Treat bros like girls.’  It sounds like the bro’s are going to come out of it quite worse for wear.  I find this very attractive of course because I’m a vindictive b***h.

I believe that objectification is not inherently wrong.  It has it’s place.  Dan Savage says that the best thing you can do for your long term partner is treat them like a piece of meat every once in a while.  And I think that for many people that rings true.

I think the problem with objectification is that it usually only goes one way.  My fix for this:

Gaze.  Stare at butts.  Make awkward comments at slightly too loud volumes.

I can’t count on two hands the number of men in a 1 mile radius who think that their opinions about my body are prose worthy of being said aloud.

So why shouldn’t I do the same?

So let’s do some of what my friend calls ‘Fantasy Research.’  A few samples from the site:

One thing I really like about the pictures on the site is that they aren’t about the guy.  They’re not romantic.  They’re about ‘look at those shoulders’, ‘look at those fingers.’

F**k him.  No seriously.  I don’t give a s**t about him and no one expects me to.  It’s not romantic and it’s not ladylike but it sure is human.

That’s a nice one.  And once again it’s not tempting me to form some sort of romantic attachment.  No.  He’s a hottie.  He’s an object.  If he can think it then so can I.

Can you guess what my only problem with the site is yet?  It’s run by a guy.  A gay guy I presume.  My problem isn’t with him.  It’s that women had to wait for a man to do it.  Men tell me what they think of my body every day in the middle of the street and a woman couldn’t even do it on the anonymous webs.

If you tell the world that objectification isn’t ladylike and is a man’s job then you’re never going to get to do it yourself.  And you’re always going to be on the receiving end complaining about it.

Sexism isn’t about the existence of objectification.  It’s about the unfairness that women aren’t allowed to draw the same long straw.  It’s in our biology to be attracted to people.  And if you’re honest with yourself the most basic level of flirting is letting the other person see that you find them attractive.  Letting them know with a single glace that you were checking them out.  This is natural.  And yet we let the world think that it’s only natural for ‘bros.’  No way.  Take back the objectification.  Do it.  Enjoy it.

Because let me tell you.  It is FUN.

3 Responses to “You Are An Object”

  1. Webmonarch February 2, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    I don’t know–female gazing sure is a great, lady-run, place for some casual objectification. No one was every put in jail for window shopping.

  2. elenamusic February 2, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    I love that second picture w/ the guy and the bag…

    I go ahead and stare, I look at hot pics of men. I think the problem with a lot of women is that they are not comfortable with their own sexuality, so it’s hard for them to look at guys as lust objects. Took me a long time to do that myself. I think as you get older, it gets easier.

  3. eM February 5, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    “It’s not romantic and it’s not ladylike but it sure is human.” Applaud! Applaud! Applaud! Just last night, I was commenting on a hot bartender with my gal pals and all of a sudden I was deemed Samantha from SATC. My girlfriend went on to say that I was a Samantha-like because I have the cojones to make striking statements about men.

    If you tell the world that objectification isn’t ladylike and is a man’s job then you’re never going to get to do it yourself. And you’re always going to be on the receiving end complaining about it. You are so right on….I applaud you and your cojones!

Leave a Reply

