Ode To A Best Friend

31 Oct

I once had a best friend who made me believe that she was the sun and I was the moon.  She had all the light and I was illuminated only in her presence.  She was Regina George and I was allowed to be her Gretchen Weiners

As I’m sure you’ve guessed we’re no longer friends.  When I moved to college and got my own life she wrote me a scathing email and deleted me as a friend on facebook.  Believe me I was crushed (insert eye roll here).

But there are so many things I wish I could tell my 14-year-old self.  And that’s why I started this blog in the first place.  For any 14-year-old self’s out there reading.  And I hope they are.

Now my best friend is one of the best people I have ever known.  I’m sometimes hesitant to show how I feel and she is the most open person I know.  She teaches me to be a better person, better at loving every day.

With Corinna we both have light.  We are both allowed to be suns and to sometimes feel like moons.  And when one of us is feeling like a moon the other person can feel like thisAnd to give your own light to help this other person doesn’t diminish yours.  It makes both of them grow.

Anyone who’s seen a chick flick has heard this poem:

“Love is always patient and kind. It is never jealous. Love is never boastful or conceited. It is never rude or selfish. It does not take offense and is not resentful.”

I know I love her because I get this quote.  I can’t remember the last time I actually stayed mad at Corinna.  I don’t even remember the last time she pissed me off.  And it’s not because she doesn’t piss me off.  It’s because I’m able to let it go because she’s my person.

This also reaffirms my belief in this quote

Could romantic love and platonic love and parental love all be different facets of the same diamond–brilliant, no matter which face is turned up to the sun?
~Jodi Picoult (Vanishing Acts)

My love for Corinna is not romantic.  But it’s the best I’ve ever seen.  The most brilliant diamond.  In my world all forms of love are equally important and it’s really important to remember this.  Because this means that I have so much love in my life.

BESSIE. I’ve had such love in my life. I look back and I’ve had such love.
LEE.They love you very much.
BESSIE. I don’t mean–I mean I love them. I am so lucky to have been able to love someone so much. I am so lucky to have loved so much. I am so lucky.
–Scott McPherson, Marvin’s Room

And I need to believe I have so much love in my life.

2 Responses to “Ode To A Best Friend”

  1. Mariana November 19, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    that poem which you love “Love is patient…” is actually “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.” 1 Corinthians 13 4:8 from The Bible =]

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. And I Hum To You Sweet Clementine « Female Gazing - November 3, 2010

    […] Nov So I recently wrote about how all forms of love are equally important whether they’re familial, romantic, or […]

Leave a Reply

